The one place men think they’re safe from the Fall…

“Then the eyes of both were opened and they knew that they were naked.  And they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loincloths. … And he [Adam] said, I heard the sound of you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked and I hid myself.” Genesis 3:7 and 10

I think this is the verse that should appear above the inside door, above the mirror, and right outside the shower of ever men’s locker room in America and probably more so in Europe.

I am not sure at what age the transition from self-conscience pre-teen to nudist colony grandpa happens, but by my observations by the time a man hits 65 he starts thinking that these verses no longer apply to him when he goes into his local gym locker room.  They do!   Even in Heaven it appears that we will be clothed, yes clothed, in white garments.

So what makes middle to older aged men think that these verse no longer applies to them simply because they are in a men’s locker-room? Is there some Fall-free zone inside the local YMCA that I am not yet aware of?  Will I get a memo the day I get my AARP membership card?  Is there something that happens inside the brain of a retired citizen that somehow feels towels are restricting?

Sure I love to talk about the weather, about local politics, and about sports with anyone, but I prefer you to be clothed when I am doing it.  Your proud, loincloth-free walk through the locker-room is disturbing.

About Todd Van Dyke

Father, Husband, Son, and most of all lover of Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The one place men think they’re safe from the Fall…

  1. Ashley Baker says:

    Funny! I am so glad I am a girl right now.

  2. shawn says:

    Doesn’t bother me anymore…but then again I am old…and I am naked right now.

Leave a Reply

