Hallelujah…

A couple of days ago I didn’t even know what a “flash mob” was.  Over the past few days I have seen these two videos and the looks on people’s faces.

A couple of comments about these videos.

1. I don’t know what the motive is behind these “flash mobs”, but I love that in the midst of Christmas shopping, in the temple of secular Christmas, the true meaning of Christmas is declared.

2.  I love to see people stop and listen with big smiles on their faces.  I think some people even join in that aren’t part of the group, but I can’t be sure.

3.  Now what if a group of non-musically inclined, yet passionate Christians declared Christ’s worth that boldly and that passionately.  What would be the reaction?

4.  It is sad that this is unusual behavior?  I have heard long ago people actually did this kind of stuff all the time during the Christmas season.  They called it “Caroling”.

5. Here is what they are singing if you have never actually paid attention to the lyrics.

Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
For the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
For the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
The kingdom of this world
Is become the kingdom of our Lord,
And of His Christ, and of His Christ;
And He shall reign for ever and ever,
For ever and ever, forever and ever,
King of kings, and Lord of lords,
King of kings, and Lord of lords,
And Lord of lords,
And He shall reign,
And He shall reign forever and ever,
King of kings, forever and ever,
And Lord of lords,
Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
And He shall reign forever and ever,
King of kings! and Lord of lords!
And He shall reign forever and ever,
King of kings! and Lord of lords!
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Hallelujah!

About Todd Van Dyke

Father, Husband, Son, and most of all lover of Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hallelujah…

  1. Mark says:

    That’s really neat. I like the message of this one, whether they meant to do it or not. If you want to see other “flash mob” events check out improveverywhere.com. They do all types of events all over NY mostly, but have been expanding to other cities lately. Have a great Thanksgiving with your tribe of people. :)

  2. Lisa Ellenburg says:

    Love it. I thought you were going to say you have a flash mob at your house this week! It is one of my dreams to be part of a flash mob. Not a participant. Recipient. If you could make this happen for my birthday I would be really grateful. Or, my half birthday is February 2. No pressure.

    • Lisa,

      That is second only to “Hebrew Dancing” in most awesome birthday request I have ever heard. We just might need to make this happen.

      Todd

      • Leland Dantzler says:

        I’ve participated in Greek Dancing…in Greece. And it was my cousin’s birthday. Does that count? Regardless, it was epic, almost as epic as hundreds of people suddenly bursting into the Hallelujah Chorus. Man, that song is powerful. In my second year at Lee, while I was still a music major, I sang it with 150 other vocal music majors, and we were all crying by the end…so powerful!

      • I am in no way surprised by this Leland.

Leave a Reply

